Gemina- Review

My rating: 5/5 stars 

Hello fellow book lovers,

And welcome to my review of Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

This review will be split into two sections, spoiler free, and obviously SPOILERY! Because I finished this book last night and I just NEED to talk about my feelings. I just need to, ok guys?

If you have not yet read Illuminae, go read it! As this will all make more sense once you have read that masterpiece.

So lets get into the non-spoilery section:

I had been hearing a few mixed reviews about Gemina. A few reviewers that I really trust had been saying that it really suffered from second book slump, whereas other reviewers that I also trust were saying it was AMAZING! So, going into Gemina, I literally had no idea what to think. I was equal parts excited and apprehensive. But let me tell you, I FREAKING LOVED THE SHITE OUT OF IT!

Gemina picks up not too long after the end of Illuminae, and takes place on Jump Station Heimdall, the intended location of the Hypatia, the ship carrying my precious babies Kady and Ezra. Unfortunately for my precious babies, not all is well at Heimdall, and things unravel from there.

The plot in Gemina was incredibly fast paced. I was at no point bored. I found it to be a bit more complicated than Illuminae, and some parts took me a bit to get the gist of what was going on, but I still loved it all. Even though some parts were downright horrifying and gave me the heebiejeeeeeebs.

The story follows our two main protagonists, Hanna, the daughter of the captain of the station, and Nik, a reluctant member of The House of Knives, a crime family on board the jump station.

A lot of people who have read both Gemina and Illuminae have said they had trouble connecting with Hanna and Nik and their romance, in comparison to the complete magnificence that was Kady and Ezra in Illuminae. I may be in the minority, but I freaking LOVE Hanna and Nik. As individuals, and their romance. I may even rate them above Kady and Ezra. So fight me. DON’T GET ME WRONG, I love Kady and Ezra, but it was just something about Hanna and Nik that I really connected with.

I also loved the side characters, such as Nik’s cousin Ella, Jax and Isaac.

Anyway, just know that I really loved this book A LOT! And if you are yet to pick up the series, GO DO IT NOW! And if you were feeling apprehensive about Gemina, go read it. Now.

Ok, that is it for the non-spoilery section, so anyone who has not read Gemina, click away now, for the spoilers are a-comin!

in

3

2

1.

.

.

.


SPOILER SECTION

OK SO I AM JUST GOING TO BE WRITING IN ALL CAPS FOR SOME OF THIS (see what I did there, heh heh) because I have so many FEELINGS!

DISCLAIMER- section may resemble rambling. All thoughts and feelings are my own.

FIRST OFF I am so glad baby AIDAN is back! I love that crazy computer! I will admit I had a bit of a flick through before I started reading, and I saw that there were some pages in the AIDAN format and I almost screamed with joy! He has definitely developed some sass thanks to Kady. When Hanna told him to call her The Queen of fucking Camelot and he just couldn’t do it, I laughed so hard I swear. I’m so glad he is back, saving all my precious babies again ❤

SECONDLY, them villains. Falk. I literally wanted to punch the shit out of him and hug him at the same time. He is one of those villains who has such charismaaaaa. Even though the audit team didn’t really end up being the major villain in the end, but we all know Ezra’s psycho mum takes that crown. Kali was so annoying. I was soooo glad when Hanna shot her. I was waiting almost the whole book for her to get her ass beat, and finally it happened! Lucky for the happy dust!

So the whole plot line with the dust in the beginning, and those poor cows! I had an inkling it would lead to something weird and gross, but I was not expecting the aliens to be THAT weird and gross. I could really connect with our surveillance guy on those scenes, they were freaking disgusting. And poor Lucy! 😦

The whole wormhole/Nik splicing story was SO GOOD! BECAUSE I WAS A CRYING MESS WHEN I THOUGHT HE HAD DIED!! AND WHEN I THOUGHT HE HAD DIED AGAIN MOMENTARILY I FLAILED ALL OVER THE PLACE CRYING AGAIN! But as we know, my baby Nik is still all in one piece.

Which brings me to Jax. I am so pissed off and disappointed in that boy! When I found out he was Rapier, I actually screamed and flung the book across the room. All I could think was “YOU DICK HEAD, JAX! HOW DARE YOU!!!” However, he does redeem himself in the end. Slightly. I guess.

As far as side characters go, I loved our little spider, Ella. I couldn’t believe it when people said they didn’t like her! I get that she was a bit abrasive but still, the girl’s legs didn’t work, she is bound to be a bit bitter.

I was also SO HAPPY that Kady and Ezra made an appearance. Such sass. Much wow. And Kady’s dad! God, I hope they are reunited!

And finally, I want to talk about my newest OTP, Hanna and Nik ❤ . A lot of people have said they couldn’t connect with the romance or didn’t really like it, or found they couldn’t connect with the characters, but I respectfully disagree with those people. I loved them both as characters. I loved Hanna’s back story as the rich girl, trained by her commander father to be badass, but to do it in a freaking expensive and stylish outfit just made her for me. I loved her. I want her as my friend. I loved Nik’s whole back story with him going to jail for his brother and disconnecting himself from his douchebag father. And I for one found their romance to be believable. Even though he flirted with her when she had a boyfriend, he was being a bit jokey about it (even though we allllll knew he was being 100% legit), and I don’t think Hanna was being 100% in her rejections of him in the beginning, I think she had a soft spot for the little crim. And I feel their romance was just extremely concentrated into that small space of time because of the extreme stress and anxiety of the situation, they had both lost so much and the other was the only thing that felt safe to them, they became each other’s homes. When he called her Highness, I swooned a little, not going to lie. SO YOU PRETTY MUCH GET THAT I LOVE THEM!

ANYWAY! These were all of my feelings about Gemina spewed at you in word form.

Comment down below your thoughts on Gemina, or even if you agree/disagree with anything I have said in here!

Happy reading,

Jess 🙂

Leave a comment